Reference Links for Writers

This list is compiled from various sources and we take no responsibility as to their authenticity or usefulness

www.onlinebooks.net.au -The site is a not for profit site that allows writers to display their work and advertise that it is there on the world wide web. 

http://www.marketlist.com – a writers’ resource for all fiction genres

www.bsfa.co.uk  – The British Science Fiction Association

http://www.sfwa.org – Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc.

www.everywritersresource.com – exactly as the titles suggests!

www.writersservices.com – the website for writers

www.writingcorner.com – one of the best reader and writer resources around

www.writing-world.com – an online community for readers and writers

www.writerswrite.com – a one-stop resource for information about books, writing and publishing

www.firstwriter.com – every writers indispensable internet resource

www.oneofus.co.uk – helps you use the web to improve your creative writing

www.writewords.org.uk – a source of inspiration and feedback for writers

www.mslexia.co.uk – for women who write

www.naww.org – National Association of Women Writers

www.author-network.com – an extensive range of resources for writers

www.ukauthors.com – a creative reading and writing community

www.ideas4writers.co.uk – thousands of inspiring ideas for writers, novelists and poets

www.winningwriters.com – competition information for poets and writers

www.shortstorygroup.com – devoted to the art of writing short stories and poetry

www.theshortstory.org.uk – dedicated to short story writing

www.writing.com – an online community for all skill levels

www.pageonelit.com – literary newsletter website

www.writersbreak.com – educating writers everywhere

www.writelink.co.uk – a resources site and writers’ community

www.absolutewrite.com – an up to date news site about the literary world

www.writersdigest.com – shows you how towrite better and get published

www.poetryonline.com – a great resource for poets

www.poetcasting.co.uk – a poetry podcasting project

www.novel-storm.com – innovative ideas for writing and publishing

www.allexperts.com – the largest free Q&A service on the internet

www.patent.gov.uk/copy – everything you need to know about copyright UK

www.copyright.gov – everything you need to know about copyright USA

www.societyofauthors.org – protects the rights of authors

www.writersguild.org.uk – supports writers of all genres

www.agentsassoc.co.uk – membership organisation for literary agents

www.plr.uk.com – about the public lending right UK

www.plrinternational.com – about the public lending right around the world

www.alcs.co.uk – protecting and promoting authors’ rights

www.rd.com – Reader’s Digest website USA

www.readersdigest.co.uk – Readers Digest website UK

www.ioj.co.uk – Chartered Institute of Journalists

www.bgtw.org – British Guild of Travel Writers

www.nuj.org.uk – National Union of Journalists

www.thebfp.com – The Bureau of Freelance Photographers

www.thecwa.com – The Crime Writers’Association

www.thrillerwriters.org – International Thriller Writers

www.britishfantasysociety.org.uk – British Fantasy Society

www.bsfa.co.uk – British Science Fiction Association

www.horror.org – Horror Writers Association

www.erotica-readers.com – The Erotica Readers and Writers’ Association

www.bbc.co.uk – The British Broadcasting Corporation

www.screenwritersstore.co.uk – a filmmaking store since 1996

www.bscw.co.uk – British Society of Comedy Writers

www.bl.uk – The British Library

www.bodley.ox.ac.uk – Bodleian Library

www.nls.uk – National Library of Scotland

www.llgc.org.uk – The National Library of Wales

www.tcd.ie/Library – Trinity College Library, Dublin

www.writersandartists.co.uk – Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook

www.economist.com/research/StyleGuide – Research tool

www.theasianwriter.co.uk

www.DailyLit.com

www.shelfari.com

www.RareBookRoom.org

www.Authonomy.com

www.Books.google.com

www.BookCrossing.com

www.Goodreads.com

Literary Organisations and Websites

Librivox – Accoustical liberation of books in the public domain – www.librivox.org
The European Short Story Network – www.theshortstory.eu 
Aymptote – www.asymptotejournal.com
Thresholds – Home of the international short story forum http://blogs.chi.ac.uk/shortstoryforum/?page_id=6931 
The Edge Hill Short Story – https://www.edgehill.ac.uk/shortstory/
The Story Campaign – www.theshortstory.org.uk
The Desmond Elliot Prize for new fiction – www.desmondelliottprize.org
Literature Northwest – www.literaturenorthwest.co.uk 
Publishing Northwest – www.publishingnorthwest.co.uk
The Short Review – www.theshortreview.com
Laura Hird – www.laurahird.com
Independent Northern Publishers – www.northernpublishers.co.uk
Volland & Quist (German Publishers) – www.voland-quist.de 
East of the Web – www.eastoftheweb.com
Irish Writers on-Line – www.irishwriters-online.com
Icelandic Literature Web – https://www.bokmenntaborgin.is/en/literature-web/
Words without Borders – www.wordswithoutborders.org
Transcript: The European Internet Review of Books and Writing – www.transcript-review.org 
Literature Across Frontiers – www.lit-across-frontiers.org
Carcanet Press – www.carcanet.co.uk 
Fantastic Fiction – www.fantasticfiction.co.uk
Classic Shorts – www.classicshorts.com 
The Crime Writers Association (CWA) – www.thecwa.co.uk
The Horror Writers Association (HWA) – /www.horror.org/ 
Crime Time – www.crimetime.co.uk
EquaLiteracy Book Club – Equaliteracy Book Club
The Murder Squad – www.murdersquad.co.uk 
Poetry Magazines – www.poetrymagazines.org.uk 
The Poetry Archive – www.poetryarchive.org
The Poetry Society – www.poetrysociety.org.uk 
The Poem Website – www.thepoem.co.uk
Palm Sized Press – Palmsizedpress
Dog Eater Books – www.dogeater.co.uk 
The Garsdale Retreat – http://thegarsdaleretreat.co.uk
University of Reading – English Literature
Dublin Reviews of Books – DRoB
Free Word – https://www.freewordcentre.com/
Time to Read http://www.time-to-read.co.uk/whatson/

If you have a reference you would like to add to this list please contact us.

Contact Us

Contact Us

First
Last
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.